A World like No Other

It’s one thing to watch the blue world on a screen but it’s nothing compared to the feeling we have when we go under. I realised this fact last weekend when I went scuba diving with my friends.

We realized pretty early that diving is not as easy as it sounds or looks. Just getting into the diving suit is pretty hard, especially if you have a protruding belly (I don’t have it, by the way). After that we helped the instructor in lifting the accessories – the oxygen tank, the weights, the buoyancy suit, into the van. By the time we reached the van, we were lolling our tongues out and panting like dogs. But the hardest part was not even done yet.

After arriving on the beach in the van (it was very windy to go on a boat), we started dressing up. We tied the stones to our waist, hurting our fingers along the way. We wore the buoyancy jackets with the oxygen tanks, held our fins in our hands, and proceeded to the beach, getting glances from people in shorts and bikinis.

By the time we reached the water, I felt like my back would never be straight again. It was hard enough walking on the ground with the tank on the back, and when it was combined with walking against the sea waves on the beach and holding my ground in the water, it became a torture.

We put on our masks and the breathing snorkel in the mouth and practiced breathing underwater, once our fins were attached to our feet. As I put my face underwater and saw the bottom, I didn’t want to come out of the water again. I took the first breath and it felt like I belonged in the water. We practised swimming with our fins, with the help of our instructors, and once we were comfortable, it was time for the real deal.

All this time, we were swimming on the surface with our heads under the water. As my entire body went under, it felt like I was at the most peaceful place in the world. I felt that I had left my world above the ground far behind and this was where I belonged. Fishes swam ahead of me and algae played along with the water currents. I just breathed and kept going deeper. For the first time in my life, I felt a sense of happiness I had never felt before. I didn’t want this feeling to pass. I wanted time to stop and just let me stay there for a long, long time.

As I came out of the water, I looked back to the open sea and just one thought came into my mind – I am coming back.

One thought on “A World like No Other

Leave a Reply

