What’s New?

Every year brings something new in our lives. If we really think about it, we can relate one thing to each year of our lives, be it new people, new possessions or new events. This year brings something new in my life that actually, I never hoped for.

Ever since I was a kid, I had this scintillating dream of traveling to various places. I remember watching Discovery Channel shows related to travel and sometimes, my mother used to ask me why I watched only these travel shows. My answers which conveyed my dream to her, made her scared. Every place was too far away for her and even today, some part of her fears that I may not come back to my home, to her. This year provides me a small opportunity not only to live my dream but also to prove that my mother’s fears are baseless.

Starting mid February, as a part of my MBA program, I am going to spend at least 4 months, if not more, in Madrid, Spain. For the first time in my life, I am going to a place where everything is different from my country, whether it be the food, the people, the places or the festivals.

This freaks my mom out, obviously. My entire winter break was spent trying to explain to her that I am just going to a different country, not a different planet. And I will come back once I complete my studies. But I guess I will not be able to allay her fears until I really come back.

Basically, this is my New this year. What’s yours?

4 thoughts on “What’s New?

Leave a Reply

